Extreme Bakefest Teaser

About a month ago I got together with one of my closest friends for Extreme Bakefest 2011. We made brownie stuffed chocolate chip cookies. They were fabulous. I’ll post the full details of our adventure in the not so distant future, but for now you can feast your eyes on our appetizer: Peeps s’mores.

REN-1667
The proper way to make a Peeps s’more: with fire. Using a microwave is not acceptable. Using a Cosi s’mores kit is the best way to go, but I suppose you could just build a fire or use the stove, if you really wanted to.

REN-1668
Here Tara demonstrates proper Peeps s’more construction.

REN-1670
Voila! The finished product (that gigantic blob of a cookie in the background is an uncooked brownie stuffed chocolate chip cookie). I highly recommend you do try this at home. Don’t let the repulsiveness of Peeps turn you off from these. I personally hate Peeps, but in a s’more, they are a true culinary delight. When roasted properly, the sugar coating on the Peeps caramelize, adding another level of flavor to the traditional s’more. The sugar also adds a nice bit of crunchiness. Sadly, I can not claim credit for inventing Peeps s’mores, but I am on a mission to share their tastiness with as many people as I possibly can.

Stay tuned for the brownie stuffed goodness to come!

This entry was posted in bakefest, cooking, Post a week 2011 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment