Cheers, Chelle

5star-8204

Today my youngest little sister turns 21.

In my mind there are actually two Chelles. There is the pretty obnoxious youngest sister I thought I had for so many years. The one who always seemed to have her hair in her mouth and who could chew on the same bite of food for hours. The one who threw a screaming, stomping fit in a parking lot because she had to share a soda (although she would tell me it’s a pop) with her sister.

And then there is my actual sister, as I’ve come to know her. She’s a sub-5-foot tall, tiny little bundle of awesome. She’s so awesome, in fact, that I almost feel bad for holding her early childhood behavior against her for so long. Especially when I factor in my current experience as a parent. If there is one thing that living with a two year old has taught me, it’s that small children are all, at times, very obnoxious people. While the jury may still be out as to whether Chelle was actually a very obnoxious child or I was just a very intolerant teenager, what is certain, is that she is one of my favorite people in the world.

I love her unique sense of style and humor. I love that we can go see Yo Gabba Gabba live for the pure enjoyment of seeing a favorite show live, on stage. I love that she appreciates the humor in the crazy gospel station we found driving home from Orlando in the middle of a rain storm. And I’m so impressed with her maturity in handling all the curve balls life has thrown at her in the last few years. In some ways, it actually seems a bit strange that she is just now turning 21 (although she does looks like a twelve year old).

Outtakes-8483
We share a very unique sense of style and humor, but Chelle has always embodied her uniqueness in a way that I never could.

I find it hard to put into words what I love so much about my youngest sister. But trust me. If you’re one of those people who shares my love for Yo Gabba Gabba, strange gospel stations and princess karaoke, you’ll think Chelle is the bees knees.

5star-8291
And if you’re not so much into those types of things, check out these killer baby blues. With eyes like that, you can get away with a little obnoxiousness now and then.

Happy birthday Chelle. I love you!

This entry was posted in birthday, Family, Post a week 2011, sisters and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

