And truth be told I miss you … And truth be told I’m lying

At my former place of employment we had Sirius satellite radio pumping through the office all day, every day. Because we were a place of business and because we occasionally had clients in the office, management dictated which stations were approved for listening. And by stations, I mean station. We listened to only one. It was called the Pulse. I would describe the station’s format as pop for post college aged, middle class, white people. Although I do fit the demographic, this is not a station I would choose to listen to. Although I don’t particularly dislike pop music, I prefer to hear it in very small doses. I find that most pop songs get very annoying, especially when you hear them a minimum of three times a day, five days a week. Some of the most memorably awful songs include “Hey, Soul Sister” by Train, “Bubbly” by Colbie Caillat, “Gives You Hell” by The All American Rejects and anything by Taylor Swift.

The reason I say I don’t dislike pop music (although I mostly do dislike it) is that on occasion, when the timing is just right, one of these songs will hit my senses in a whole new way and suddenly a previously loathsome song is now a personal anthem that I will play on continuous repeat with complete abandon. One such song is “Gives You Hell” by the All American Rejects. For months I heard this song repeated numerous times every day and for months I thought the song was annoying and that the authors/ musicians soundly like obnoxious, douchy, frat boys. Then my unpleasant job suddenly turned unbearable (The short version of the story is this: we had a major bully in the office and sadly that bully was in a position of complete power). So I’m sitting at my desk one afternoon trying to figure out what I want to do about my current stress level and the douchy frat boys come streaming over the airwaves. The song is a break-up anthem professing the singers wish that his former flame is now miserable as a result of her choice to leave him. The hook is “when you see my face, I hope it gives you hell”. Admittedly immature and not particularly compelling, but as I heard it on the radio that day, that song suddenly became my new empowerment anthem. There is a particular part in the song where a choir of males joins the lead singer for the songs chorus and I suddenly pictured all my fallen coworkers standing with me singing our new anthem from the comfort of our much better jobs. Suddenly I no longer felt battered, but rather empowered. That’s when I decided that my job was not worth the sleepless nights and the inability to eat. I turned in my notice two days later. Although I did spend the next eight months unemployed, those eight months have been some of the best in my life. And every time the All American Rejects come blasting out of my personal Ipod I sing along with a big smile on my face …

Gives You Hell by the All American Rejects

I wake up every evening
With a big smile on my face
And it never feels out of place.
And you’re still probably working
At a 9 to 5 pace
I wonder how bad that tastes

When you see my face
I hope it gives you hell, I hope it gives you hell
When you walk my way
I hope it gives you hell, I hope it gives you hell

Now where’s your picket fence love
And where’s that shiny car
Did it ever get you far?
You never seem so tense, love
Never seen you fall so hard
Do you know where you are?

Truth be told I miss you
Truth be told I’m lying

When you see my face
I hope it gives you hell, I hope it gives you hell
When you walk my way
I hope it gives you hell, I hope it gives you hell
If you find a man thats worth the damn and treats you well
Then he’s a fool you’re just as well hope it gives you hell
Hope it gives you hell
[Gives You Hell Lyrics On http://www.elyricsworld.com/ ]
Tomorrow you’ll be thinking to yourself
Where did it all go wrong?
But the list goes on and on

Truth be told I miss you
Truth be told I’m lying

When you see my face
I hope it gives you hell, I hope it gives you hell
When you walk my way
I hope it gives you hell, I hope it gives you hell
If you find a man that’s worth the damn and treats you well
Then he’s a fool you’re just as well hope it gives you hell

Now you’ll never see
What you’ve done to me
You can take back your memories
They’re no good to me
And here’s all your lies
If you look me in the eyes
With the sad, sad look
That you wear so well

When you see my face
I hope it gives you hell, I hope it gives you hell
When you walk my way
I hope it gives you hell, I hope it gives you hell
If you find a man that’s worth the damn and treats you well
Then he’s a fool you’re just as well hope it gives you hell

When you see my face
I hope it gives you hell, I hope it gives you hell (hope it gives you hell)
When you walk my way
I hope it gives you hell, I hope it gives you hell (hope it gives you hell)
When you hear this song and you sing along well you’ll never tell
And you’re the fool I’ve just as well I hope it gives you hell
When you hear this song I hope that it will give you hell
You can sing along I hope that it puts you through hell

This entry was posted in Misc., Post a week 2011 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And truth be told I miss you … And truth be told I’m lying

  1. OneOfTheLuckyOnes says:

    I know exactly what you mean. Exactly. I also worked there. I know people who work there. I feel sorry for them. This bully you speak of seems to get immense joy out of toying with employees’ emotions and watching the ensuing chaos like it’s her own personal daytime soap opera. It’s pathetic. I was fired shortly after I was hired and it was a blessing (although it didn’t feel like it at the time). I am now happy in a great firm with great people.
    There are songs that are still branded into my brain from my days there, and every time one comes on the radio, I have horrible flashbacks and need immediate therapy! Haha…

Leave a Reply

