A real boy

It’s hard to believe that in less than a week my baby will be a 2 year old. I think the second year went by even faster than the first. What amazes me most (and I probably shouldn’t admit this) is how much like an actual human being he’s becoming. I know he’s always been a real boy, but as a baby he seemed a lot more like a really awesome pet than an actual person. Now he can communicate and walk and (sadly) has a mind of his own.

Although I am a bit sad that I don’t get to tell him what he’s thinking anymore, watching his personality and separate identity develop has been the most rewarding part of parenting so far. I’ve seen him change from a snuggly, squishy, helpless little bundle of awesomeness into an amazing little boy. He can do so many amazing things. And all in just 24 months. It’s probably why I think he’s a genius. Just two years ago he could barely see and now he spots a microscopic thumbnail of his grandpa on Facebook and shouts “Baba”. I’ve been seeing just fine for 30+ years and I couldn’t have spotted Baba in that picture. Clearly he’s a genius. He amazes me daily with the things he can do. Also, he’s got a really magnetic personality (unless he hasn’t had his breakfast). He is always very popular wherever I take him. I certainly think he’s awesome, but it still amazes me how much (positive) attention he gets in public places. As a person who generally flies under the radar, it has been a very unique experience.

In the past 24 months, I’ve changed quite a bit too. As I fell deeply, madly, completely in love with my son, I began to understand a bit more why men are the way they are. They were probably raised by mothers who thought the world revolved around their sons. I’ve also learned that, as of now, if it got my baby to come home and visit, I’d probably do my grown son’s laundry for him. I’ve done so many things in the past two years that I would never have predicted. My son was exclusively breastfed. I have no problem with formula and assumed I would use it, but I never did. I also made all of his baby food. He has never had jarred baby food. I don’t really have any issues with feeding him jarred baby food, it was just cheaper to make my own. Also, I wanted him to learn to like the taste of homemade foods rather than the taste of preservatives. I don’t consider myself an “earthy” or “natural” person. I don’t buy all organic foods. I don’t shop at Whole Foods. I feed my kid canned ravioli (generic at that). But I did end up doing some things that are considered a bit extreme when it comes to parenting. While I’m confessing to all these “attachment” style, hippy parenting acts, I might as well go all out. I also cloth diaper, I’ve strongly considered homeschooling him and I did, occasionally, carry him in a sling. What can I say. This style of parenting does not exactly fit who I thought I would be as a parent, but I am very happy with the parent I have become.

Parenthood has been a big adventure and learning experience already. I can’t wait to see what the next years have in store for us.

Puddle splashing from Ryan Nowlin on Vimeo.

This is a video of my “real” little boy splashing around in some puddles after our snow finally decided to melt. He’s wearing his brand new shoes as well. Definitely a real boy.

This entry was posted in birthday, Family, Parenthood, Post a week 2011, steele and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

