Recycling Broken Crayons

If you are like me and have a toddler who loves to color, but also loves to destroy crayons, here’s a fun activity for a rainy (or blizzardy) day. Recycling your old broken crayons into new, fun shaped, crayons.

REN-7837

I happened to have a new Legoman ice cube tray and decided to use that to remold my melted crayons. I did some research before starting my crayon creating project and found several articles which recommended melting the crayons in the microwave. I tried that and definitely don’t recommend that technique unless you have hours of time on your hands and really enjoy (slowly) watching wax melt. I went with the oven melting technique instead.

To start, take your broken crayons, remove all the paper and sort out the colors however you like.

REN-7836

Next, place the crayons in a muffin pan (I actually used silicone cupcake liners) and place in a 400 degree oven for 10 minutes. After ten minutes carefully remove the melted crayons from the oven and pour the melted wax into your mold. You could also just let the wax harden in the muffin tin for cookie shaped crayons.

REN-7858

Here is my Legoman mold with the melted wax poured in. Now just let the wax set up. I let mine sit on the counter for about 5 minutes, then moved the mold to the freezer for about 30 more minutes.

REN-7862

Once the new crayons have set up, you can remove them from the mold and they are ready to use.

REN-7860

One of my new Lego crayons next to a real Lego toy.

REN-7863

These were the best crayons of the bunch. I ended up with a few layered crayons and all my green crayons came out with a nice swirl pattern. Unfortunately, I managed to behead a couple of the poor little green guys trying to get them out of the mold. Then the destructor himself came along and beheaded one of the little red guys, so Legomen might not be the most practical choice of crayon shape for a toddler, but I think they look cool. Once I figured out how to melt the wax, this was a fun and easy activity. Plus it makes me feel better about all the new broken crayons I seem to find every day.

This entry was posted in Green, Parenthood, Post a week 2011 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Recycling Broken Crayons

  1. That Mom says:

    How adorable! I’d love to know where you got the Legoman ice-cube tray?

  2. Tammy says:

    Ryan- that’s the coolest recycling idea! Going to have to try it when Lucy gets a hold of crayons!

Leave a Reply

